search the friars website

Saturday August 18th 1973

friars aylesbury phase two - borough assembly hall, market square, aylesbury

norman watt roy inducted into the friars hall of fame in 2011


Jo'Burg Hawk
related friars history (click on date)
Jo'Burg Hawk Sunday June 17th 1973 Friars Dunstable Monday 19th March 1973

Glencoe Saturday September 8th 1972

Ian Dury and the Blockheads (Norman Watt-Roy/John Turnbull) Wednesday November 2nd 1977 Saturday May 27th 1978 Saturday January 5th 1980 Saturday November 15th 1980

Wilko Johnson (Norman Watt Roy) Saturday May 28th 2011

band line up
Jo'Burg Hawk
Dave Ornellas (vocs)  Braam Malherbe (drums) Julian Laxton (guitar)  Mark Kahn (guitar) Les Goode (bass) Ivor Back (drums) Alfred Lerfelo (drums) Billy Mashiso Audrey Motaung Pete Kubheka (all percussion)
Stewart Francis (drums) Graham Maitland (keys) John Turnbull (guitar, vocs) Norman Watt-Roy (bass, vocals)
gig poster and flyer (click to enlarge flyer)



press cuttings
what happened next

Jo'Burg Hawk were on the verge of something in 1973 until management problems forced them away from London and back to South Africa (where they were known simply as Hawk)

Nowadays, Dave Ornellas is a Christian minister in Cape Town, Julian Laxton runs the Julian's venue in Randburg, Les Goode, Mark Kahn and Ivor Back work together in a studio in Johannesburg

Thanks to Tom Jasiukowicz for the up to date information

As for Glencoe, Watt-Roy and Turnbull teamed up with others to form The Blockheads

odds and trivia
official web presence
sound and vision
Jo'Burg Hawk - Here Comes The Sun

privacy policy  legal and t&c  contact 

copyright 2007-2021 david stopps/friars aylesbury ltd

All rights reserved and no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission - please see terms and conditions for details. All photos copyright mike o'connor except where specifically stated and used with permission.